Star Wars: Episode IX Cast Announced

Disney announced that Star Wars: Episode IX already begin filming at London’s Pinewood Studios this month.  J.J. Abrams is back to direct the final installment of the Skywalker saga in which he co-wrote the screenplay with Chris Terrio.

Composer John Williams will return to write the scores for Episode IX as this will be his last one that we are aware of.  The spin-off such as Star Wars: Rogue One and TV Series Star Wars: The Rebel was scored by other composers.  It will be a great farewell to the end of the Skywalker Saga if this is the last one before we see many more spin-off of the galaxy far, far away in the upcoming future.

Returning cast members include Daisy Ridley (Rey), Adam Driver (Kylo Ren), John Boyega (Finn), Oscar Isassc (Poe Dameron), Lupiita Nyong’o (Maz Kanata), Domhnall Gleeson (General Hux), Kelly Marie Tran (Rose Tico), Joonas Suotamo (Chewbacca), and Billie Lourd (Lieutenant Connix). Mark Hamill (Luke Skywalker), Anthony Daniels (C-3PO), and Billy Dee Williams (Lando Calrissian) will be returning to Episode IX.  The new faces will include Naomi Ackie, Richard E. Grant, and Keri Russel.

With the passing of Carrie Fisher (Leia Organa), Lucas Film will be using previously unreleased footage shot for Star Wars: The Force Awakens.  J.J. Abrams stated, “Finding a truly satisfying conclusion to the Skywalker saga without her eluded us. We were never going to recast, or use a CG character. With the support and blessing from her daughter, Billie, we have found a way to honor Carrie’s legacy and role as Leia in Episode IX by using unseen footage we shot together in Episode VII.”  This is definitely a great tribute of her legacy in Skywalker Saga.

Star Wars: Episode IX is scheduled to be release in December 2019!